In 1899, local residents formed the Wantastiquet Golf Club and established a six hole course near the present site. In December, 1913, Tom McNamara, a professional golfer from Boston, toured the site of the current course and plotted a lay out for a nine hole course. The property then was owned by the Brattleboro Retreat. The Retreat was approached to insure that favorable long term lease arrangements could be made. Because of the determination and enthusiasm of the founders, the process did not take long. On February 21, 1914, fourteen local business men incorporated the "Brattleboro Country Club," apparently changing the name from the "Wantastiquet Golf Club".
Three-time U.S. Open runner-up Tom MacNamara, designed the 2,754-yard nine-hole layout for the opening of the club on July 1, 1914.
The course as it exists today grew out of a 1930 do-over by Wayne Stiles, and a 2000 expansion and partial rerouting by Vermont native Steve Durkee. Eight classic Stiles’ holes remain (9-12, 15-18), with ten contemporary Durkee holes woven in (1-8, 13-14), with ample elevation, charming variety, and pleasing views at every turn.
Construction began in April of that year and the grand opening was held on July 1, 1914. Over 1,000 people visited the clubhouse and enjoyed the celebratory Japanese lawn party. In addition to the music and the golf, trap shooting (which has since been discontinued) was a highlight of the first day's activities.The course measures 6,533 from the tips (71.1, 126 slope), 6,073 from the regular tees (69.1/122), 5,051 from the forward tees (64.2/112 for men; 69.8/114 for women).